powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Manly man punches girlfriend

2004-09-02 - 8:18 p.m.

I got a call from the ER physician at 3 am this morning. Doug, I've got a patient of yours in my ER, and as you know, she's an SIU student who's 19 weeks pregnant. Seems she was a little late picking up her boyfriend from work tonight, and he punched her in the abdomen several times. Told her she'd better not be late the next time!

There are times I'm embarrassed to be a man. How can any guy get to the place where he could hit a woman, not to mention a PREGNANT one, and not feel like an absolute cretin? What goes on inside of his head that makes that acceptable?!? I mean, it's not like he was coming home falling down drunk, for crying out loud. He was coming home from WORK! I don't know what I'm going to say to him next time she comes in for a prenatal visit. I hope she'll press charges, but I'm not too hopeful. I read somewhere that the recidivism rate for domestic battery plummets if the batterer (99% of the time MEN) spends at least 48 hours behind bars for their heroic exploits.

Where are the men who see life, not as an opportunity to take, and use anything and anyone they can, but who know their role is to protect and serve??? (Even the usually competent Carbondale PD has THAT motto). I swear, we're raising a generation of men that can't see past our own immediate needs. Our current manly mantra? "It's all about me. Who are you and what do you have that I can use, take, manipulate, control, and get inside of? When I'm done sucking you dry, I'll leave the shell and find someone else.

I get to see those leftover women in my office every day and hear the same stories over and over. I promise -- I will NOT raise my boys to be those kind of men. Nathan, Elijah, and Isaiah will, if I have anything to do with it, be men of character and integrity. And Kelsey will NOT marry a guy like that. I don't want to get a call from the ER that says, Doug, we have your daughter Kelsey here, and as you know, she's 19 weeks pregnant....

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!