powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: I would've made a good Catholic

2004-09-04 - 10:35 p.m.

It's Saturday night and the house is packed with family. It's been great to have them here, though after a few dozen bags of popcorn, soda, and pizza, the kitchen looks like what Florida will probably look like tomorrow!

I saw my buddy Cesar today. He brought Melissa and the girls with him to celebrate Isaiah's dedication. He's a cardiologist and the personal doctor for several people in our church. It is amazing the number of people with cardiovascular disease in this country! If people would eat less and engage in the activity my specialty knows a alot about, there'd be more kids for me to deliver and less heart attacks! Here's hoping my pitiful exercise program keeps Cesar my friend rather than the guy who does my heart-cath!

Cesar has been a great friend over the past 5-6 years. Since he's Peruvian and I grew up in Bolivia and Peru, we share a similar cultural background and language. When I was struggling with my understanding of God and his role in my life, Cesar was there to answer my skeptical questions calmly and patiently. I owe him a great debt for his influence in my spiritual walk. Last fall, Cesar, Steve(a personal injury trial attorney, and also a great friend - believe it or not), and I spent a weekend at the Gethsemani Monastery in KY. For a protestant like me, it was a profoundly moving experience to experience the life of a Catholic monk, and to awaken at 3am to begin the cycle of prayers and masses. The monastic lifestyle of withdrawal from the world does hold its attractions for busy people like me. I enjoyed the silence and solitute. However, by Sunday afternoon, I was missing the kids and Brenda too much and was glad to be on the road back home. (Besides, my knees were getting sore!)

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!