powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: 'Parenting is not for cowards'

2004-09-08 - 10:08p.m.

On call again. One lady in labor, and one C-section just completed. But at least I got a couple hours at home with Brenda and the kids.

Kelsey was in the piano room playing a new composition she's been working on, so I crashed on the floor to listen. She's passed me up eons ago in terms of playing the piano. I keep telling her that manual dexterity is something she's inherited from her surgeon dad. She needs to make sure to give me proper credit when she gets up to play Carnegie Hall.

Elijah came in and stretched out on the carpet beside me. He is such a bright, cheerful kid as a rule, but right now he's going through a phase where he's constantly second guessing himself and feeling guilty about everything. Brenda is at her wit's end trying to know how to deal with a kid who struggles with knowing what is right to do and what is right to think, but keeps 'confessing' he's not. I suspect he's probably going to mature a little earlier than Nathan did in many ways, but along with that comes a extraordinary moral sensitivity that needs to be guided gently and reassured often. This parenting thing is tough! Like Dr. Dobson's book says, "Parenting is not for Cowards" - I certainly agree!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!