powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Getting touchy

2004-09-16 - 10:30 p.m.

Isaiah and Elijah watching TV. When Isaiah gets sleepy he stretches out his hand till he's touching someone. There must be a sense of security in knowing you're not alone. It's such a strong instinct to reach out and be reassured by the presence of others.

Are we like herd animals that run for the safety of the crowd? Odd, isn't it that we are such a strange mix, fearing to be singled out yet craving to be noticed? I've decided that's never more dramatically obvious than in adolescence. I'm noticing it more and more in my own kids as they near adulthood, and it reminds me of my own high school years. As a freshman, I walked the hallways, hugging the walls. I watched every interaction to see how the game was played. The seniors swaggered - and I nodded respectfully. They bullied the weak and I stayed out of the way. I didn't do anything stupid or mean that year, but I certainly wasn't the man I should've been.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!