powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Nearly fatal fetal encounter

2004-09-17 - 8:43 p.m.

Do miracles still happen? If they do, one happened last month in Granite City.

Today a young woman came to my clinic in Harrisburg with concerns that she's still spotting after having had an abortion in Granite City 5 weeks ago. Something doesn't feel right, she said. Her blood work showed a serum HCG in the 250,000 range. That's odd after 5 weeks. It could mean she had a 'molar' pregnancy, or she got pregnant again right after the abortion.

I suggested an ultrasound, and an amazing thing happened. The ultrasonographer got a strange look on her face. She's got a viable 13 week pregnancy, alive and kicking in there, she said. Wow..that means an 8 week pregnancy somehow eluded the size 10 curved Hegar suction tip. How? I...DON'T...KNOW!

But one thing I do know is this young woman has a few hard choices to make this weekend. I hope she decides not to go back to Granite City and finish the job. I would almost give anything to be the obstetrician for a miracle baby.

The experience made me think again how grateful I am Isaiah's birthmom didn't choose an abortion. I imagine it was one of the toughest decisions she has ever had to face. I often wonder if she trusted anyone enough to ask what they thought, or what they would do in her place. What kind of advice did she get? This isn't the stuff of everyday conversation. It would have lifelong repercussions no matter what she decided. Did some friends urge her to get the problem solved quickly down the block, or did they support her decision to carry the baby? It must be unbelievably difficult to choose between two impossible options.

Isaiah, I'm discovering, is a uncommonly affectionate and delightful child that lights up a room just by crawling into it. The more I observe him, the more convinced I am there must be a unique work cut out for him to do in this life. I've got a feeling about this kid. Something about him is being prepared to dramatically make this world a better place. I don't know yet how but he will. To think he might have never been is scary.

We just got back from a pool party at Becky's house. The whole office was there and putting away the booze at an alarming rate! We have a great group of people working at New Horizons OB-Gyn, but they sure seem to need the booze to relax enough to have fun. By one or two drinks there is a lot less uptightedness around the party. Too bad it takes chemistry to get that way. The boozeless parties I've gone to never seemed to end up with the typical surliness, staggering, or embarassing behavior common to ethanol drenched affairs. Oh well, for all you out there that can relate and have the same experience...cheers, but designate a driver, will ya?!?

Kelsey suggested putting up this pic of Nathan, Lance, and her getting ready for rock-climbing a few weeks ago. The cousins were all set to climb when someone insisted on helmets. I thought their heads were hard enough not to need added protection, but once again, their mother (aunt) came to their rescue and saved the day.

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

1 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!