powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Now one of those "Who Know"

2004-09-19 - 9:39 p.m.

Cards lost but Nathan and I had a blast. We spent Saturday evening eating out and watching Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow at the St. Clair Cineplex. We about froze our butts off in the theater! It took an emergency blanket from the trunk of my car before we stopped shivering. Word of advice...Don't go into an airconditioned theater with shorts and a t-shirt and then gulp down a large iced soda.

On the way there and during some of the breaks in the car, we listened to Dr. Dobson's CD on adolescence as a springboard to our own discussions about what lay ahead for him. He handled it so well. We talked about sexuality and reproduction. These sort of topics come pretty easily to me - afterall, I spend all day talking about sex-related issues with my patients. But THIS, however, was a unique privilege for me - to be the one to introduce my son to the 'secrets' adults know. He handled it with only a slight raising of the eyebrow and a "People really do that?" comment. I was proud of him.

Sexuality has such great possibilities for good in our lives. Think about it - it can enrich so many aspects of our short years on this earth, from physical bonding with the one we love, to release of a day's worth of stress. Yet, it has the problem of bringing so much pain and complications to the lives that misuse it. Engage in it at the wrong time or with the wrong person and you get hurt as predictably as if you threw yourself off a cliff. I don't want my kids to ever experience that if I can help it. At least ignorance of the basic issues will not be one of their excuses!

Nathan and I then went to the ball game. The Cardinals have now clinched the NL Central Division title but managed to lose today - go figure. After the game, Nathan picked up as many Cardinals cups as he could find. Don't know why that was necessary, but, I guess now that he has been inducted into the secret society of "Those Who Know", he has the right to remember it with the sort of souvenir of his choosing.

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!