powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Weird coincidences?

2004-09-21 - 9:38 p.m.

Ruby Tuesdays for dinner with Brenda tonight. Weird thing happens - the waitress is personable and friendly, and starts telling us all about her plans to be an elementary school teacher. This happens to us a lot when we go out. We must have "Talk to us" tatooed on our foreheads.

Anyway, she's late 20's maybe and a student at SIU. Her name is Marti and she loves her chosen vocation, that's obvious, but she has some real concerns about being able to relate to older kids and the prevasive lack of respect in classrooms today. She admits she's not sure how she'll handle the first kid who tells her to shut up. Great conversation.

I started to tell her about one of my patients whose 3 year-old son told her - IN MY PRESENCE - to "shut-up b____!" I almost fell out of my seat. "You let him say that to you?!?" I asked astonished. "Oh, he's just like that sometimes" she smiled apologetically. "I just ignore it most of the time." Good, ignore it, Lady, and you have a future resident of Cell Block A on your hands!

Marti looked at me oddly. "Hey, I think I know you. You're that doctor that looks like Anthony Edwards, aren't you?" she asked. "I saw you on my best friend's birth video last week. She said you look like Dr. Green from ER." I was starting to feel pleased with myself when Brenda started to laugh. Oh great, I thought. Someone tells me I look like a movie actor and I get smiles from my wife. As a matter of fact I notice, it would be my luck I'm told I look like someone they killed off in that series. Why couldn't I have looked like Dr. Carter instead?

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!