powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Doing time

2004-10-07 - 7:14 p.m.

Thursday afternoon is my afternoon off. Usually, it's a time I can spend with the kids and Brenda doing 'family night out' activities, or go on a date with Brenda alone. I look forward to Thursday nights. It conveniently comes right after my call day on Wednesday. So, just when I've about had it with being a doctor and I don't think there is another compassionate bone left in my body, Thursday evening happens and I feel remade. Brenda would've divorced me years ago it it hadn't been for Thursdays. I've discovered there is one secret to keeping a marriage alive - one ingredient to a growing and intimate relationship that lasts. It's not that difficult in concept, but it is oh so hard in its execution. Time. Time. And more time.

Everything on this earth fights against spending enough time with my family and the ones I love. When I was in med school, half the class got divorced. I swore I would leave medicine if it hurt Brenda. So I decided to quit studying after 8pm. It was hard at first. I'm very competitive by nature and had been used to being near the top of the class in college. Now I found myself in the upper third only, but at least I was still married. A lot of our close friends quit trying and broke up. OB-Gyn residency was brutal enough, but starting up a new practice was overwhelming. Brenda stayed with me though. I guess she believed me when I said I would leave medicine if it threatened us.

However, the most significant change in our marriage came unexpectedly. After years of being a skeptic and agnostic, I had an epiphany that radically changed my life, and in its wake, my marriage and my role as a father. More on that at a later date.

Ending on a lighter note: here's Isaiah visiting his abuelita (great-grandma) in Ponce, Puerto Rico.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!