powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Together alone

2004-10-10 - 9:17 p.m.

What's a view worth? It seems to increase in personal value the older I get. When I was in L.A. going through medical school and residency, we had neighbors on either side we could reach out the window and touch. On a good day, these weren't the kind of neighbors you'd generally care to reach out and touch. On a bad day, it could get downright scary. The majority of southern California, it turned out, lived life disconnected from those around them. On the rare occasions our neighbors did step outside, we'd be met by a casual nod, but there was never any chatting over the fence like we had in Tennessee.

When we moved here to Carbondale, Brenda and I chose a few acres outside the city limits. But, for a while, when we first came, we had tried living in town, close to the hospital. We bought a little green house on South Forest Avenue, and discovered, to our surprise, that SIU students frequently cut through our back lawn (miniscule though it was) to get to the housing behind us. The Friday night sounds of revelry made it really hard to sleep. Then there was the Saturday morning clean-up of beer cans and bottles scattered across our property.

No, thank you. No more city living for me. Now, when I wake up every morning, this is the view I get from my bed. I've decided it's not good for my soul to stare at concrete when it starts the day. I think I'm going to like it here. So, here's to the green stuff - may it continue to grow outside my window.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!