powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: A cut to the quick

2004-10-12 - 10:01 p.m.

Kelsey cut her hair today, and now she looks way too old for this Dad's peace of mind. I know she's a great kid, and has extraordinary maturity and poise, but that doesn't stop my heart from skipping an anxious beat or two. I just saw her change fairly rapidly before my eyes tonight, and it was a little scary.

Is it me, or does it seem our little girls grow up way too fast in our culture? Someone has got to slow this thing down. It seems like the proverbial yesterday Kelsey took a nap on my chest. Having a daughter, I'm discovering, profoundly changes a man. Having never been a little girl, everything she went through growing up was new and exciting for me to watch. Now that she nears adulthood, there are other issues that I'd hoped to put off facing for a while. I never see another woman anymore without wondering who her dad was, and what kind of relationship they had. Does she talk to him often and with affection? Does his approval and affirmation give her focus and stability?

What am I going to do when I send Kelsey off to college in the next few years? What kind of men will she meet, and will they respect her as they will hopefully respect their own daughters someday? I hope so, but I'm a little pessimistic. I know too much of what is out there. We've not done a very impressive job of training our men to handle intimacy and lifelong commitment. Scary, huh?

By the way, I admit I love the haircut - I told her so - but, does she have to look like she's 18? Couldn't she somehow get a great haircut and still look 14?. Well, maybe it's just that the haircut adds an elegance to a maturity she already has and that's as far as it goes.

Here she is playing the piano tonight. See what I mean?

While Kelsey brings order out of musical chaos in the next room, her little brother is emptying out the kitchen drawers, cupboards, and pantry. It is an interesting developmental stage that motivates a little boy to find out what else is in the drawers. Some have said a man never outgrows that instinct. Hand him the remote, and he will not be happy watching TV till he finds out what ELSE is on TV. It's the irrepressible explorer in us. Get used to it!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!