powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Kids-eye view of the debates

2004-10-14 - 7:18 p.m.

The election is almost over. If the issues involved weren't so critical to our nation's future, I'd be happy to turn the TV off and never open a newspaper again till it was over. But everything is too important and the future of this country is too uncertain, so I try to understand as much as I can, and try not to go crazy. The debates didn't help to clarify much - but the kids enjoyed them.

We watched all three presidential debates as a family, largely for their educational benefit. The boys thought Bush won hands down, but Brenda and I were very impressed by Kerry's class and graciousness. We still didn't approve of his policies or stand on moral issues, but we felt he gained the most by this national exposure.

Isaiah had a hard time understanding why everyone stopped moving when the TV went on. He walked around, throwing himself on his brothers, laughing, and generally disrupting the seriousness of the debates - (they were supposed to be serious, weren't they?). Isaiah seemed to think his only priority was being with family and sharing his bottle. There has to be some wisdom in that, I suspect!

Here, Isaiah shares his favorite book "Corduroy" and a toy with the man in the mirror.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!