powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Circle of influence

2004-10-20 - 4:54 p.m.

I just saw my last patient of the day a few minutes ago. It's been a long day. Now, only one more young woman in labor to check on, and perhaps then I'll be free to go home. Wednesdays are so notoriously hectic, it's entirely possible I may spend the rest of the day and night in the hospital. Hmmm...maybe I should've gone into Veterinary medicine instead of OB-Gyn. I could be taking care of someone's cat or dog right now. But, wait. Don't vets sometimes get scratched and bitten by those high-strung, agitated, and excitable animals? I think perhaps I'll take my chances in Labor & Delivery with a laboring mom, and keep my job the way it is.

On the way in to work this morning, I was listening to a CD my buddy Cesar Coello gave me (cardiologist here). It was a recent talk given by a Father Benedict to a Catholic Physicians Association meeting. His message was on the effectiveness of a life dedicated to doing the work of God in what is rapidly becoming a neo-pagan culture. It was a witty, charming, and immensely provocative lecture that made me realize how much the world needs good people (my mother-in-law would call them "buena gente") who are absolutely undisturbed and untouched by the moral decline of the culture around them, but blithely live their lives of self-sacrifice, moral integrity, and deep spiritual conviction as if that was the only acceptable course they could follow. These people are like the biblical yeast that affects the whole loaf. The quiet ones who are afraid to offend by being different from the politically correct rarely make much of an impact on the world around them. The talk re-inspired me to commit all the energies I have within my little circle of influence to change this world for the better.

Anyway, gotta go to L/D, and check on the latest little life in Southern Illinois. When I get home, I'll put a picture of my favorite little toddler on, all wrapped up in his towel after his bath last night.

9:53pm Here it is.

Doug

Oh, by the way, for some unknown reason, one year-olds have an unrestrained desire to share their food. The more unpalatable the fare, the more likely Isaiah is to offer it.

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!