powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Out to Tres Hombres

2004-10-22 - 6:41 p.m.

Boys weekend! The girls in this family are at a women's conference in Indianapolis. That leaves me with Nathan, Elijah, Danny (my nephew), and Isaiah. We're off to Tres Hombres in a few minutes to enjoy our Friday night out with Mexican food.

More at a later time tonight. Have a great weekend!

Doug,


2004-10-22 - 9:50pm

We're back from Tres. As usual, the boys talked non-stop, and Isaiah tried to improve on his already piercing squeal. It does wonders for me to have my kids talking to me. I hope we never reach the day when they don't. It would break my heart.

We came home and played on the kitchen floor. It is truly amazing how much I relax when I'm not on call and don't have to worry about the pager going off. There's a part of me that despises that little plastic thing. When I'm on duty, I'm never free. It's a ball and chain, just looks different. In the realm of reproductive medicine, emergencies are always lurking, ready to happen. There's the ruptured ectopic pregnancy that wanders into the ER. Or, a motor vehicle collision that involves someone carrying a near-term infant. Suddenly, there are dozens of assessments that have to be instantly made and immediate actions initiated if the little one is to make it.

Tonight though, I reveled in the luxury of playing with the boys. While Nathan and Danny shot plastic missles at each other in the hallway, and Elijah set up figures to knock over, Isaiah and I played with the soccer ball in the kitchen. He's just beginning to get the concept of kicking a ball. When he got tired, I took him up to his room and changed him into his pajamas. That was when I made a tactical mistake. I took off his diaper but didn't put a new one on for just a few seconds too long. He started laughing, and I looked down. My left leg was drenched. You'd think after 4 kids, I'd know better.

I fed him his night-time bottle and put him in his crib. He is such an easy child to put to bed. He rubs his hand on my chin while he's being fed, then, when he's placed on his favorite pillow, he...sleeps! No crying or fussing - just falls asleep. He loves having his stuffed animals around him. They must have become familiar friends that sooth him when he wakes at night.

This is him a few moments ago. Sweet dreams, kiddo.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!