powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Isaiah's Judge makes the bench

2004-11-03 - 8:25 p.m.

So grateful the elections are finally over. Oddly enough, the race I watched the most closely was not the presidential race, but the contest for a seat on the supreme court of Illinois. Although I was pulling for Judge Karmeier over his rival Judge Maag for professional and ideological reasons, there was a more personal issue involved. I had met Judge Karmeier at a fund raiser and I was flattered that he instantly recognized me. I thought surely it must be because I've become a well known OB-Gyn in this area? Nope - not even close. He recognized me from a recent adoption he had done for a little boy named Isaiah. At the fund raiser, I shared with him Isaiah's remarkable story. I talked with Judge Karmeier about a young woman's courageous decision, and how her choice affected my understanding of life and my practice of medicine profoundly. It seems I can't talk with my patients considering abortion anymore without mentioning the picture of Isaiah on my desk (the one with Maow-maow sleeping next to him). I assure them I support their decision, but ask if they would possibly consider adoption as an option. It is incredible the ripple effect a small decision can have on the course of history. One choice, made with integrity and courage, reaches far beyond our immediate circle and changes the lives of people we've never met. I often wonder if my life is making any significant ripples. I'd give anything to know for sure.

With the elections results now in, it appears Isaiah will grow up knowing that the judge who ruled on his adoption case now sits on the highest court in the state of his birth. I like to think his story added to Judge Karmeier's resolve to win!

Here he is with us on March 4, 2004 - the adoption day.

Take care!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!