powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Never get caught with your camera down

2004-11-07 - 5:49 p.m.

I got caught without my camera last night. I could've kicked myself. For a father with kids in a performance of the Nutcracker, that blunder was unforgivable. My digital camera is usually within easy reach 24 hours a day, but last night I realized too late I had left it on my dresser. I didn't even have a cheap disposable Kodak available. I was sick. How am I supposed to win the Pulitzer Prize for photojournalism if I keep forgetting the camera?

Kelsey, Nathan, and Elijah performed with the Southern Illinois Children's Choir at Shryock Auditorium, and last night, they looked elegant and grown up with a black silk dress for Kelsey and the tuxedoes for the boys. There were a lot of very proud parents there last night, and a one very chagrinned Daddy.

Isaiah and I got to Shryock a few minutes early, so we went over to Morris Library to browse the newspapers awhile. Isaiah enjoyed the walk over. As long as I'm moving, he's content to look around and sight-see. People comment on his eyes, how alert they are. I'm pretty sure he was analyzing the architecture and structural engineering of Altgeld and Faner Halls on the way over. That boy doesn't miss much.

Here he is pushing his big brother Elijah around. It's pretty much the only way a kid brother gets to do that.

Kelsey just ran in a couple of minutes ago and showed me a video she had taken of Isaiah dancing to the music playing in her room. It was great! Isaiah was bobbing his head and clapping his hands in rhythm to the music's beat. Kelsey had the presence of mind to run up to the bedroom and get the video camera. Isaiah definitely has a taste for music, especially music with a clear and definite rhythm. Isaiah is becoming like a Christmas gift that can be shaken but not opened. Unexpected and unpredictable personality traits appear out of nowhere, with no genetic fingers to point. It's always an adventure.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!