powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Soft words and women

2004-11-10 - 9:28 p.m.

Two women stood outside the display window of the hospital gift shop as I walked by on my way to lunch this afternoon.
"Isn't that adorable?" one said as she pointed to a ceramic squirrel holding a pumpkin.
"How cute!" said the other one. "Those colors would go great in my kitchen."

I slowed my pace to look in the window. The squirrel was okay, I guess, but it wasn't anything spectacular. The pumpkin was orange and looked a little oversized for the squirrel. Not quite to scale either, I thought, and walked on.

Then an odd thought struck me. What if it had been two men having that conversation in front of the gift shop window? Maybe it could've been a couple of those construction guys remodeling the surgical suite on Labor and Delivery. That would've been a trip to see.

"Say, Pete. Isn't that an adorable little critter carrying the pumpkin?"

"Yeah, Jake. I think I could drop'im with a 22. What do you think?"

Why is it men seldom use words like 'cute' or 'adorable' or 'sweet?' Maybe they sound too soft or weak to use in manly conversation so guys steer clear of them. But, where is it written words like that should not be part of our male vocabulary. I have to use words like that every day. No sooner do I hit the mall, than I have to stop every few minutes and look at yet another baby I've delivered strolling towards me with mom. It makes for slow progress through the mall, but at least it gives me the chance to slow down, take a deep breath, and get in touch with my maternal self.

"How cute," I say as I take a peek at junior. "He looks so sweet sleeping there." I don't think it would go over real well if I gave in to my natural male desire to tell it like it is.

"Man, now those are some ears on that kid!"

So, here's a salute to all the guys who are so confident in their masculinity they don't mind borrowing women's words if the need arises. "You go, boy!" (Wait a minute. I don't care what I just said above. THAT does NOT sound right.)

Here's Isaiah looking 'sweet and adorable' while sleeping in the car seat next to his Tita.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!