powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: One flu over the Gates' nest

2004-11-15 - 8:36 p.m.

I hate viruses. If I weren't a doctor and I could have the luxury of denying their existence, I would do it just to spite them. I would mock their miniscule size and ridicule them for being nearly invisible. I would call them weak and impotent to their faces, if they had one. After all, something that small and geometrically symetrical couldn't cause that much of a problem, could it?

Unfortunately, if I did that, I would be a blithering idiot. No amout of ignorance could protect me from the incredibly destructive force of the microbial world. Isaiah and I have become living proof today that the human body is a great culture medium for the flu virus. We've shaken with chills and slowly watched our bodies become radient heaters that warm everything and everyone but us.

I put Isaiah to sleep tonight. Since we're both in the same boat, we're not likely to make the other sicker by our contact. I'm not real sure who gave it to whom, but I know Isaiah likes to stick his fingers in other people's mouths a lot. With that little habit, he's become the perfect vector for the latest havoc-inducing viral particle to pass around the Gates family.

I'm grateful that modern chemistry affords some relief. Both Isaiah and I fortunately respond very well to ibuprofen. But nothing will get us completely through this except for time. I hope, by this time tomorrow, I won't have to hold my hands up and warn approaching relatives that I am 'unclean, unclean' like lepers in ancient times.

By the way, after you're done reading this entry, be sure to wash your hands. I hear some viruses are now being passed around by computers!

Here's a picture I took of our front lawn last winter. Just a cheery reminder of what's in store for us in the next few months. In finding this picture, I also found an old pic of Nathan and Isaiah taken at about the same time that once again reminds me how quickly little ones change, and how time with family can't be put off till a more convenient occasion. That moment never arrives, and before you know it, the kids are off to college.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!