powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Was Thespius an introvert with good parenting?

2004-12-06 - 8:52 p.m.

As I played with the kids tonight, I wished once again that I had their total lack of inhibition. I don't have that same freedom. My temperament is basically a reserved one with a little shyness still hanging on from childhood. I definitely get uncomfortable being the center of attention. I much prefer to step back and watch rather than step out and have others watch me. Granted, in my job I'm often asked to speak or teach, but at least it's usually one on one.

Last Thursday night my office had our Christmas party at Mugsy McGuirre's in the back party room. It went well, but I remember being once again uncomfortable in a large group of partying people. I don't drink as a general rule, and being around those who slowly begin to enebriate makes for a few awkward moments. The worst possible scenario would have been to be asked to "give a few words" on how the year had been. I wasn't asked so the evening went well enough. Isaiah was the only underage drinker there, running around sucking on his drink and networking with the staff.

Looking back at my childhood, I wonder if I was told to be quiet, sit still, and not make a scene often enough for it to stick, or whether I was just born with this personality. You know, when you're a preacher/missionary's kid, it's not looked on favorably to cause a ruckus. So, I took the advice to sit quietly to heart. My older brother David, on the other hand, must not have been given the same directions, or was perhaps too busy being the center of some juvenile scam to hear the instructions. I always admired his attitude. Good thing he made a serious change in the course of his life at 18 when he almost died in a plane crash, otherwise we might have had to name Isaiah David after another more law abiding relative. David now speaks before thousands of people each month and tells me he enjoys it immensely.

Isaiah it seems has started to develop that taste for public performance recently. He now will do some activity like sticking out his tongue or putting clothes on his head that elicits a laugh from the family, then quickly does it again and excitedly looks around to see if he gets the same reaction. This kind of public approbation must have some sort of intoxicating and addicting element to it to keep performers like Isaiah coming back for more.

Here's Isaiah putting on Brenda's sweater tonight and looking around for the applause. If there is none immediately available, he usually finds a way to provide his own.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!