powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Big decisions

2005-01-03 - 9:50 p.m.

I was reviewing last week's photos and noticed several I had meant to include in the diary but had not yet done so.
Here's one of Nathan getting baptized by his Grandpoppy (my dad Richard) during church service last week.

It was a proud moment for any father, especially so for me. As I saw Dad lower Nathan into the water, it brought back a flood of memories about my own baptism years ago in the muddy waters of the Rio Mamore.

I was nine years old, and the Bolivian jungle was thick across the river from where we lived, but there was a small beach of river sand that made wading out into the current a little less hazardous. My dad was a jungle missionary pilot/pastor and my mom a nurse who ran the clinic on the airbase where she treated everything from lacerations to delivering babies in our small spare room. (I still remember the cries scaring me half to !)

Anyway, we all loaded up into canoes and paddled across for the baptism. I remember how excited I was to finally understand what it meant to dedicate the rest of my life to the service and devotion of Christ. I remember being so moved that God could single me out to love in spite of the kind of kid I was. Too bad I didn't consistently keep that devotion over the course of the next couple of decades. I think I lost out on a great deal by drifting away from it for so many years.

I was proud of Nathan and his choice. Not a day goes by that I don't feel the awesome responsibility that goes with being a father. Some mornings I lie awake in bed wondering if I'm failing miserably, or if by some remarkable grace of God, my kids will survive my mistakes. I certainly hope so!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!