powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Chessmaster

2005-01-09 - 9:51 p.m.

Saturday night the family came over for games, popcorn, and a movie. While Elijah and Lance left their chess game unattended for a few critical moments, the resident Chessmaster came by and rearranged the game more to his liking.

Having the whole family over tonight and watching them play and laugh made me realize once again how great a value we as humans place on family connections. I am so grateful both my parents are alive and well. I don't know what I would do if they were gone. My grandma on my dad's side died from complications of breast cancer when I was 14 years old. I remember my dad having a hard time and missing her greatly. Now as a son of a mom of much the same age, I understand his grief. I can't imagine what life would be like without my mom here.

That grandma was great. She was one of those grandmas who kept a stash of popcicles in the freezer ready for me to eat anytime I came to visit. She was a kind and gentle person, but fiercely proud of the fact that her family were "Virginians of class." Needless to say, her definition of what class meant didn't necessarily include wealth or station. Her grandfather was a sharpshooter in the Confederate army. Turns out he pumped his last bullet in some hapless Union boy as the Confederates were surrendering because he'd "be damned if I'll surrender with a loaded weapon!" One of her not too distant relatives was General George Custer - showed the same foolish pride, it seems. She was quite proud of the role her family had in the military in general, and the Civil War in particular - albeit they unfortunately happened to end up on the losing side.

Well, to bed I go, perchance to sleep, perchance to dream...probably of popsicles.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!