powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Chord Emergencies

2005-12-09 - 8:34 p.m.

I forgot to put this pic in last summer when we had our Chicago trip. It has been a tradition since before Elijah was born that we always get a picture of the kids in the jet engine intake every time we go to the Museum of Science and Industry. It's one of those traditions that just happens, and then you can't bear to stop it. It keeps getting more and more crowded as the years go by. This was Isaiah's first trip to Chicago, and so, had to be formally inducted into the Gates family jet-set.

I was putting together a powerpoint lecture on umbilical cord emergencies in labor to be presented to a nursing class at SIC in Harrisburg today. Last night, Kelsey offered to give me her version of a "chord emergency" while her friend Angela looked on in pain. Unfortunately, the lecture was postponed till next semester due to the snow fall yesterday. Somehow, I get the feeling that had we lived in Chicago, this snowfall would not have prompted even passing interest, much less a cancellation of an entire day of classes.

While I was wandering labor and delivery on Wednesday, looking for appropriate shots to use in my lecture, I had the camera turned on me. I suppose that was only fair since I had made a nuisance of myself asking nurses to pose for me working at the labor monitors.

While I'm doing my typing, Isaiah is at my side with a flashlight shining on his face. The camera is within easy reach, but getting him to stop long enough to get a focused shot is virtually impossible.

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!