powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: New music and new births

2006-01-21 - 11:39 p.m.

Kelsey had her first full length (50 minutes or so) Christian music concert this evening at the church. She had invited several friends to come, but apparently much of the church showed up as well, so it was a little crowded. I was so proud of her. She sang about nine to ten songs, some of which she had written herself, and spoke of her relationship with Christ in the segments between the music. Her talks were warm and personal and filled with humor. She has such unusual poise for a fifteen year-old, and it makes her seem so much older and more mature on stage. I ran the sound board from the booth at the back of the church, but I couldn't help leaning out the window to get a better, fuller sound of her singing than just the small monitor speakers in the booth.

Today was also Elijah's day to be baptized. He has been studying at home and with the pastor for several weeks now, but he wanted his "grandpoppy" to do the ceremony. As a clergyman for many decades, my Dad was once again able to baptize one of his grandchildren. I was proud as I could be of Elijah! He and I had a quick prayer together just before his baptism, while we were getting him changed into clothes that could get wet, and I reminded him that once you make a decision to dedicate your life to God, God doesn't let go of you, and never will let go of you and let you drift away without working unrelentingly to bring you back. As far as he's concerned, you've given him permission to mess with your life in any way he thinks necessary to keep you close to him.


The party we had at our house tonight was way too noisy. Five families with eleven kids running around was just crazy. Isaiah kept his one year-old buddy "TJ" entertained with his styling sunglasses and his Swiffer imitation on the kitchen floor. (Kelsey and I slid him back and forth across the length of the floor - hard on clothing, but it keeps the floor clean).

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!