powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Back from Breckenridge

2006-02-27 - 8:33 p.m.

We're back from Breckenridge after a week of skiing the Rockies. Skiing has to be one of the greatest sports on the face of the earth -- and the coldest! The night we arrived, it was -10 degrees at our condo.

Wind chill made riding the lifts an experience in frostbite.

Elijah was fearless, going through trees at scary speeds. Three years ago, he gave me a scare when he ran up against a tree on one of his nearly out of control runs. His only comment was his fear that the tree had "knocked all the songs out of my head."

Brenda and I had a few hours each day to ski alone.

Every morning, Brenda would babysit the boys (Jack, Jacob, Josh) while Don, Julie, the kids, and I skied. In the afternoon, Joanna (Kelsey's friend who came with us) did the child care and the rest of us escaped back to the slopes after lunch.

The winter Olympics entertained us every evening, even to the point of holding our own "Jengalympics" where Nathan won the $5 Gold and Elijah the $1 Bronze. Isaiah and I won the Silver!

Walking on frozen water can be a very interesting test of balance. The young, I discovered, handle a fall on the ice a lot better than adults my age do. Kelsey and Joanna showed great form in their gold-medal winning performance.

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!