powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: So, this is where he came from

2006-05-28 - 10:56 p.m.

It's been nearly two weeks since graduation at SIU, and summer is in full swing down here in the southern tip of Illinois. Isaiah and my front lawn are both growing at an alarming rate recently, and it seems I can never keep up with either one. He tried on my belt this morning, largely because he needed a place to hang his ubiquitous sword. Had I not alertly confiscated my belt before he could leave the room, I'm sure it would've ended up somewhere on my lawn, along with a wide variety of a three-year old's toys.

He loves to sit on my lap as I mow with my Grasshopper. Many times, he falls asleep, leaning against one of my arms. He is especially fascinated by how the swallows come around as soon as they hear the sound of the engine starting up. It seems that little grasshoppers jump to escape the coming mower, only to be scooped up by a divebombing bird. We were mowing the back field and hiking trail this afternoon, just after it stopped raining. Both Isaiah and I got soaked by the rain still left on the leaves of the russian olive trees the hang over the trail that goes around the back pond. He came into the house and delightedly (and loudly) told the family "I all wet!". He didn't want to change just yet, since he was much more interested in finding a secluded spot under the table and delving into the Cheez-its box Nathan had offered him.

Anyway... Here's a report about the graduation we attended at SIU. Brenda and I had gone to see Isaiah's mom graduate with her bachelors degree, and had intended to be as unobtrusive as possible. We sat up in the balcony, hoping we could possibly catch a glimpse of her receiving her diploma, and maybe, if we were lucky, even see if anyone had come to celebrate with her. We were pretty sure she wouldn't care, or even know, that we were there, so we picked a seat where we could see what was going on without being too obvious. We'd been sitting there for a few minutes when four people came and sat directly in front of us. Brenda leaned over and whispered how much Isaiah looked like the man in front of her. She looked a little worried and said, "Wouldn't it be weird if it turns out to be Isaiah's grandparents sitting in front of us?" That's apparently exactly who they were. Another woman, presumably B's aunt, sat a little to our left. And a man with a camera, who I guessed was probably an uncle or aquaintace, did most of the photography for the graduation program.

The next entry, I'll talk about several interesting observations we made about the family in front of us!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!