powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Cubs in my back yard

2006-10-08 - 9:35 p.m.

The coolest thing happened this afternoon. Jack and I were out mowing the back lawn and field, when a yellow Piper Cub slowly circled overhead. I jumped off the mower and signalled for them to land if they wished. The plane immediately came around and to my absolute delight they landed and taxied to a stop in the lawn between our house and Brenda's mom's place.

Two SIU students crawled out of their little plane and we had a great visit. Today's apparently perfect flying weather had them out on their way to Giant City state park just down the road. They said they were surprised to see me gesture for them to land, and being young pilots, just couldn't pass up the opportunity. Jack was entranced. He drove his little pickup truck in circles around the plane, with Brenda keeping a watchful eye on him.

Dave--the pilot and owner of the Cub--offered to take Nathan and Elijah up for a ride. Nathan returned sure he wanted to start flying lessons tomorrow. All Elijah said was, "Cool".
I went up briefly and took some pictures of our 20 acres and airstrip that looks so little from the air. What a gorgeous day for flying.

When we got back, I finished the mowing with Jack on my lap, where he promptly fell asleep. --Doug


MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!