powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Surfing Diaryland

2004-09-15 - 10:34 p.m.

She's 350lbs and pregnant. Both she and I know the baby is going to be big, but she wants to labor anyway. Her chances of a C-section are very high considering the 50lb weight gain and the pre-existing obesity. But something inside her doesn't want to give up without giving it a try. Some women's courage amazes me. We'll see how she does tonight.

When I got home this evening, Kelsey, Brenda, and I curled up on the couch to explore several diaries in diaryland. There is phenomenal writing talent out there (and a lot of garbage too). Some write with a raw, edgy style that often over-indulges in expletives. It gets a little old, but overall, they are generally effective in getting their message across.

There was one writer we came across that was exceptional. I don't recall what her name was exactly, but I think it was Silverjade something or other. Her description of the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago was nothing short of amazing. She described a exhibit of a human body sliced up in multiple slices and encased in plexiglass sheets. I could almost see her tapping her fingers absentmindedly on the glass to get the bubble to rise to the surface of the formaldehyde. She mused on the nature of a human existence that would end up a series of pickled slices in a museum. Great stuff. If I ever run across that diary again I'll have to leave a note of appreciation for her writing gift.

I think I may miss this month-long experiment in journaling. Those who can write with both power and beauty, have my undying admiration. There are times I wish I had continued my Freshman journalism major in college instead of going into medicine. Maybe my handwriting wouldn't be so bad now.

I'll end with a pic of Isaiah doing what he does best...being happy.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!