powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Bloom where you're planted!

2004-10-15 - 10:47 p.m.

They say happiness is a choice - a decision we make on how we'll react to the circumstance in which we find ourselves.

We took a trip a while back that was so packed with luggage and bodies that my nephew Kris (peruvian) had no option but to crawl in the back with the suitcases. Admittedly, he has traveled all over South America with my brother David, and has had to experience tough situations, but I was amazed at his cheerful attitude on this trip. Never once did he complain of his cramped quarters. He never lost his sense of humor. I think he even joked about being the smallest one in our family and so earned the "privilege" of getting the back all to himself! I seriously doubt I would've been that cheerful.

That reminds me of a principle my mom tried to hammer into my head growing up. "Bloom where you're planted," she used to say, somehow expecting my teenage complaining to evaporate.

This phrase has come to mean a great deal to me over the course of the past 16 months, but in a whole different context.

A little over 16 months ago, I had my evening devotional time and tried to figure out what message God might have for me that night for my spiritual growth. Everything I read seemed to touch on an odd subject. Several times the information I read seemed to point me towards the idea of accepting whatever God put in my path without complaining. You are placed here for a reason and for a time such as this, I read.

About two hours later, when I had just hit that deep sleep cycle, the phone rang. "Doctor, you are the doctor on call for walk-in's, aren't you?" My heart sank as I mumbled uh-huh. Walk-in patients, with no attachment to a particular physician, are difficult ones to take care of for a variety of reasons.

"OK," I said. "Just send her up to Labor and Delivery, and I'll see her in a while." I complained to myself quietly, and tried to go back to sleep. This just wasn't fair. I had been on call for walk-in's just a few days before. I rolled over but couldn't go to sleep. "Get off your butt, Doug. Get yourself into the hospital right away" God seemed to say. "There is a reason why this young lady came in to the hospital on this night in labor. I'm asking you to bloom where you've been planted."

The nurse met me at the young woman's door. She quietly told me the baby was being put up for adoption, and that the mother was very frightened at not knowing who the doctor was going to be. "She's hidden the pregnancy from her family and from her 2 year old daughter, and she is scared to death."

As soon as I walked into the room, I saw a very frightened young woman obviously in a great deal of pain. When I introduced myself and asked her how she was doing, a very strange thing happened. She suddenly burst out crying. "Dr. Gates," she said. "I'm so glad it's you. I know you because you came into the gas station where I work, several months ago, and talked with me!"

She seemed to relax immediately, and went on to deliver a beautiful boy without any problems or difficulties. Wow, God, I thought, you set that one up pretty well. But it wasn't even close to being over.

The next morning, I sat on the edge of her bed and talked with her about her decision to place the baby up for adoption. I told her I was proud of her incredible courage. We talked a long time about what life was going to be like from here on out, and about how easily we can find ourselves in unhealthy relationships.

I got up eventually to leave, and she said, "Dr. Gates, before you go, I want you to meet someone very special to me, my social worker Ami L." She gestured towards a young woman with dark hair who had been sitting quietly in a chair across the room. I had assumed she was a close friend or family member. I shook her hand and said hello.

Little did I know then the profound importance of that 'chance' meeting. A few months later, I would get a note from that social worker that would set in motion a series of events that would forever change the lives of countless people. More on that later. All I know now, with all the certainty I own, is that God will plant anyone anywhere to bloom in his own good time. I just have to be willing to let him.

Doug


MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!