powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Dragged kicking and screaming

2004-08-31 - 9:26 p.m.

Hmmm, so, this is how it starts... I suggest a small way Kelsey can improve her life and the brilliant observation gets shot down with, "Well, Dad. I don't see YOU writing a journal."

"True, Kels, --(oh-oh, I see where this is going)-- but I'm not the one with the writing talent in this family. You're the one glued to your laptop for hours, writing fiction online with your writing buddies. Instead of the usual LOTR fluff you could be writing REAL stuff like what goes on in that almost 14 year-old head of yours. For example, how do you decide what's worth keeping and what gets thrown away? Whose opinion of you matters, and does it really change you in any significant way?"

I think I may have distracted her, but the look in her eye tells me not. I recognize that look - she gets it from her mother. "I'll do it if you do," she says triumphantly, absolutely sure her dad, frequently too busy delivering babies to spare the time, won't take her challenge.

"Deal!" says I with way too much enthusiam. Now I'm trapped... How do I do this?? Better yet, WHEN do I do this?? It's hard to tell a woman in labor to breath through a few more contractions so you can complete your entry. Decidedly not good for a practice or for my professional reputation.

So, here's my deal, I say. I'll do it for the month of September only. After that I'm freeeeeeeee, but she has to journal with real depth and substance for the rest of her life! Sounds like a bargain to me.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!