powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Saint Louie-Louie and the family's day out

2004-09-06 - 8:58 p.m.

Labor Day, now there's a holiday for an obstetrician! I would've gotten out of the hospital earlier had it not been for a tragic case that walked in early this morning.

A young woman at 20-weeks gestation came in with ruptured membranes (leaking amniotic sac). I sat on the side of her bed to talk to her and ask her how she was doing. She started to cry and said, "Doc, I'm pretty sure I know what this means - I'm going to lose this baby, aren't I?" I nodded my head. I knew we were just minutes away from her delivering her baby. I had seen on my ultrasound that the baby was almost through the cervix and into the vaginal canal. The strong urge to push would not be long in coming.

I don't like grief very much. It's not one of the emotions that ranks very high on my favorites list. But, if I think about it, grief really is, in a way, an honoring of the value of what was lost. I don't grieve the absence of worthless things. It is that which I hold dear and treasure that I long for when it's gone.

Back to happier things. Brenda, the kids and I loaded up in the highly masculine mini-van and set out for St. Louis, going westward and then following up the Mississipi river till we got to SL.

Isaiah was in his carseat and getting increasingly dissatisfied with the restrained life of an infant. He started to stretch and kick the back of the driver's seat (mine!) and cry. The bottle and the usual array of baby trinkets held his attention for a few moments but then the protests began again. I looked helplessly at Brenda and said, "Now what?". She smiled and winked at me, then whispered, "Watch this... Hey, everybody! Let's sing!"

So we start singing, and Isaiah is entranced. He turns around in his carseat trying to watch everyone while the singing is going on, a grin on his face. Brenda says, "Doug, I tell you that kid is special. He absolutely LOVES music. At home he'll crawl over to the piano and pull himself up. He reaches over his head to pound on the keys, sometimes for a long time before stopping."

I'm impressed! I wonder if his birth parents loved music or were gifted with a talent to play and understand that art. Funny how aptitudes are demonstrated so early in our human development. Isaiah already has definite tastes. He likes, for example, the sound track to Pirates of the Carribbean or Lord of the Rings, as well as some classic rock. He especially likes Rod Steward and Phil Collins. Anything with rhythm is down his little alley.

Well, it was nice to get away. Too bad holidays happen as infrequently as they do. Maybe someday they'll invent some type of "tele-obstetrics" I can do from Kelsey's laptop, while I'm soaking in the Puerto Rican sun, eating Abuelita's pasteles and arroz con gandules (me dicen, es la comida del cielo).

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

1 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!