powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Mother saves son from reckless Dad

2004-09-05 - 10:59 p.m.

I'm at the hospital, just did a delivery. The patient is a young Pentecostal woman, and naturally had a tribe of women from her family and church in attendance. Apparently the father is out of the picture (surprise) and left with no dad to turn the delivery over to, I proposed that one of them help me. FOUR volunteered! What was I to do but include them all. What a riot that delivery was! Come to think of it, I may have just set a new personal best for myself!

Brenda paged me just as I was finishing up, "Doug, sorry I was soooo grumpy" She and I had gotten into a rare exchange of words this afternoon. Seems Nathan in typical 11 year-old fashion was pushing the limits of swing physics. His hands were wet and slipped off the rope. Conveniently, this swing is set up over the trampoline so he can jump off and convert his flop into a flip. He missed... and whacked the metal frame with his head. Not bad, mind you, but to a mom, this is akin to nearly ending up with a child in a persistent vegitative state.

This brought on the 'discussion' of "Doug, he almost killed himself"..."Brenda, he's just a boy. How else is he going to learn not to kill himself?" I got nowhere. Naturally, up came the historically remote promise I made to make the trampoline safe for mankind by putting up the net fence - a promise I had long forgotten, mostly out of a reluctance to turn a cool trampoline into a monstrosity of bars and nets.

(The kids watched the development with intense curiosity. Mom and Dad hadn't had a 'discussion' this heated for at least a couple of years. Back then, these affairs occurred weekly, but now that Mom and Dad were into this "Love and Respect" kick, things had been amazingly calm and thoughtful around the house.)

Anyway, I get the page and call home. Brenda says she understands my point of view in wanting to train the boys towards independence, and I apologize for being slack with my promise. And I admit to her my conviction that if it were not for their safety-conscious mom, our kids would have died a premature (though gloriously adventurous) death years before. There! Reconciliation done! Now I can go home.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!