powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Boys just wanna have fun

2004-09-09 - 9:16 p.m.

Boys' night out! (Well, actually it was girls' night out. Elsie's birthday is Saturday and Brenda wanted to treat her and Kelsey to dinner at Bennie's). That left me in charge of the guys.

What do guys age 1 to 11 wanna do on guys' night out? Nathan and Danny (my nephew) wanted to go archery shooting, Elijah wanted to race go-carts, and Isaiah just wanted to hit the bottle.

So, here I am, at an archery joint, a place just dripping with testosterone - deer and elk heads hanging from the walls - and I walk in with a one-year-old on one arm and three trailing kids behind me. I like this place. It treats archery as an art form, and although I'm not much into hunting, I can tell these guys love the sport.

The look I got from the men there looked suspiciously like one of pity. I'm sure they were thinking, 'Poor guy. He must be a single dad!' We had a blast. The boys didn't accidently skewer anyone, and Isaiah charmed the pants off the kids and ladies who were there.

We then took in Tres Hombres for dinner with cheese, cheese, and more cheese. In typical guy fashion, I forgot to put a bib on Isaiah. By the end of the meal he looked like a neglected child, with a wet shirt and cheese stains running down the front. I got out of there by hugging him close so no-one could see his condition and snuck out as fast as I could. Luckily, I didn't run into any patients.

We got home and I took some pictures of Isaiah crawling around the bedroom floor while the boys watched an episode of Stargate on DVD. I'll post one so everyone can see what a great 8-toothed smile he's got. All in all, male bonding went well, and the girls got to do their thing without us.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!