powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Flight of ideas

2004-10-25 - 10:32 p.m.

Yesterday was the kind of day that would make Carbondale a city of ten million if only weather like this lasted all year long. Who would want to live in smog-ridden LA when clear, sparkling skies in Southern Illinois beckoned. Thank goodness there is a winter that discourages overpopulation. (Wait a minute. How do I explain Chicago?)

I flew over Pinckneyville yesterday at dawn. The fall colors were spectacular. I flew along the tree line and watched deer spring into the woods. An unlucky coyote couldn't find a place to hide in the freshly harvested soybean field, and panicked as I flew circles around him. There is no way to describe the feeling of flying on a perfect day. It is utterly intoxicating.

A buddy of mine flew by me in his yellow Quicksilver and waved. Guys like him haunt the airport, sitting on rickety chairs in the shade of the hangar, trading stories - wildly exagerated - of aeronautical haps and mishaps. Yesterday, I was the brunt of discussion. My landing was inelegant to say the least, and they made sure to point it out. You have to have tough skin to hang around that bunch.

Brenda's great aunt Marianne is here to visit us. She is amazing. Even at 93 years of age, she is quick and agile. She will walk anywhere, anytime. Isaiah was a little shy at first, but quickly warmed up to her. Regretably, her short term memory is slipping a little, so I heard the same story repeated a few times. I wonder if God didn't plan for the elderly to have that memory loss, and the ensuing propensity towards repetition, precisely because it would give the young an opportunity to hear wisdom over and over again. I love Marianne's quick wit and articulate conversation. I want to be just like her when I'm 93. Did I mention I want to be just like her when I'm 93?

Here's Isaiah joining me for my work-out tonight. He would've gone for the 50lb weights, but I cautioned him to take the body building slowly. Can't be too musclebound to fit in your diapers, I say.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!