powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Cat wrestling and Grandmommy's 70th

2004-10-27 - 10:24 p.m.

Just got back from our favorite asian haunt. We celebrated my mom's 70th birthday tonight at Hunan's with all the family there. My youngest brother Don and his wife Julie flew their plane in from Savannah as a surprise.

Here's Mom with Josh, Don and Julie littlest boy. Jacob, his elder brother, will be three in February. So far, Josh is the only cousin Isaiah has who is younger than he is. Don says to expect a couple more sometime in the future.

Mom still works full time as a Labor and Delivery nurse at Memorial. It continues to be one of the greatest joys in my life to be able to work with her in caring for mothers in labor. Whenever I can, I try to have her as the nurse attending my patients. I may be biased, but I think she is the greatest, most gracious and kind person I have ever known. When I passed around her birthday card this afternoon in L/D, so many of her fellow nurses spoke of her gentleness and encouragement. They had the nerve to ask how she got a son like me :)

When we returned home, Isaiah was charged up and full of energy from the party. His buddy Maow-maow didn't realize Isaiah was in a playful mood and wasn't expecting the wrestling take-down to the mat. That cat and Isaiah have an unusual attachment that has been present since Isaiah came home. Maow-maow is infinitely patient with little Isaiah, and puts up with the rough play without complaining. Isaiah loves cats in general, but he's especially fond of this cat. Although he's rough at times, he somehow knows how to be gentle enough not to hurt them. They always come back for more!

Hope those of you who read this diary had a day filled with blessing. Whether you are aware of it or not, you are the subject of a lot of personal and family prayers around this home! Sleep well.

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!