powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: Christmas concert

2004-12-12 - 8:20 p.m.

Last evening was the SICC (Southern Illinois Children's Choir) Christmas concert. What a great performance. That was the fullest I've seen Shryock Hall for the SICC concert since the kids have been in it. I was so proud of all of them. I used to get on their cases about looking around at the audience and each other during a performance, but this time it was absolutely professional. Kelsey,as the oldest member in the choir and the one with the most experience, has naturally become the person the other kids turn to for advice and direction on getting their part right. She assumes leadership so easily and unselfconsciously.

Here's the group with Elijah on the far left and Kelsey and Nathan in the group on the far right.

Brenda had to keep feeding Isaiah Cheerios to keep him quiet. He is so accustomed to the sound of music being practiced around the house, that he's gotten into the habit of singing along at the top of his voice. OK in the house - a little over the top for Shryock Auditorium. We got a few chuckles from the row behind us till Brenda found the Cheerios and distracted him.

We were supposed to go to Chicago this weekend but the concert caused a change in our plans. I wasn't too upset, I suppose. Although I love Chicago and have great memories of living in La Grange for a summer (while I dated Brenda and worked as an orderly in Hinsdale), the winters there are brutal for a guy like me who grew up in South American rainforests. I can survive just fine with heat and humidity, but I've about decided you can give cold weather and snow to someone else, thank you very much.

Have a warm night!

Doug

MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!