powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
A ONE MONTH JOURNAL Sept-2004

And now, the journal dedicated to the child singlehandedly responsible for the world's diaper toxicity crisis: Mr. "Where else would you like me to put it?" -Isaiah

Today's Entry: No time like the present

2005-11-10 - 9:37 p.m.

Thursday afternoon is typically my time off from work, but as so often happens in packed schedules, the scheduled leisure time becomes consumed by catching up on what 'absolutely has to be done' before going home. I've been waking up at 4-5 am the last several weeks with nagging thoughts that won't let me get back to sleep. At first, I thought it was more the side effect of late evening snacking rather than a bubbling up of some subconscious issue I needed to address. But, apparently, I was wrong. It seems my inner Doug doesn't think I'm spending enough time - be it quality or quantity - with my family. The message I'm getting is that ten hours a day at work and one hour at home with the kids is a ratio reversed.
If anyone has any ideas on how I can (legally) pay the mortgage, save for college, and keep food on the shelves with the ratio reversed, please let me know, because I beginning to think I'm trapped.
When I got home, there were leaves to rake and a driveway to blow clean. I think I would've spent the rest of the day doing badly needed chores if Isaiah hadn't attacked me with his trusty dog-chewed-the-heck-out-of sword. He was so full of energy and life that I was ready to turn in my stethascope and retire so I could beat off the pirates with him. The rest of the afternoon, I hit the baseball with the boys, and watched Kelsey's history video with her. Maybe tomorrow morning I'll be able to sleep till six. --Doug


MOST RECENT ENTRIES

- - 2009-02-12

Back in the saddle again - 2008-02-12

Jack makes out like a pirate - 2007-09-29

Cruise control - 2007-02-17

Mexico Orphanage trip - 2006-11-23

Conception<< - >>Birth

0 Comments

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!